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Declining to Fill a Prescription
By Megan Flandro, Doctor of Pharmacy Student,
Idaho State University College of Pharmacy

Can a Nevada pharmacist decline to fill a patient’s
prescription? The simple answer is yes. However, a
pharmacist can only deny filling a prescription under
certain circumstances. Nevada Administrative Code
(NAC) 639.753 Declination of pharmacist to fill
prescription, outlines these circumstances. It states that
a pharmacist may decline to fill a prescription only if the
pharmacist reasonably believes, in his or her professional
judgment:

(a) The filling of the prescription would be
unlawful;

(b) The filling of the prescription would be
imminently harmful to the medical health
of the patient;

(c) The prescription is fraudulent; or

(d) The prescription is not for a legitimate
medical purpose.

Declining to fill a patient’s prescription based on one
of these reasons is justified, but it is also an interruption
in patient care. The pharmacist must follow up with the
patient’s provider and explain why he or she is declining
to fill the prescription. Clear and open communication
between pharmacists and providers is vital to improving
patient care. If a pharmacist declines to fill the prescription,
what should he or she do with the prescription?

NAC 639.753 outlines a few options:

(a) Retain the prescription and not return the
prescription to the patient;

(b) Return the prescription to the patient;

(c) Make a copy of the prescription and
return the prescription to the patient; and

(d) Unless the prescription is for a controlled
substance that is listed in schedule II, dis-
pense a quantity of the drug prescribed,
not to exceed a 3 days’ supply . . .

The last option allows the pharmacist to have enough
time to speak to the provider about his or her concerns
with the prescription.

If the pharmacist has talked to the prescriber and used
professional judgment to determine the prescription
is lawful, not harmful to the health of the patient, not
fraudulent, and for a legitimate medical purpose, he or
she may fill the prescription. Documentation is critical
in these types of situations, so pharmacists should make
sure to record the outcome of their conversation with the
practitioner. If they have spoken to the provider and have
still decided not to fill the patient’s prescription, they must
keep the prescription and communicate with the patient
their reasoning for not filling the medication.

New CS Theft or Loss Reporting Form
By Luis Curras, RPh, Inspector

Nevada’s requirements for reporting any controlled
substance (CS) theft or loss are set forth in Nevada
Revised Statutes (NRS) 453.568:

“All loss or theft of [CS] must be reported on forms
provided by the [Investigation] Division [of the Nevada
Department of Public Safety] to the [Nevada State] Board
[of Pharmacy] and Division within 10 days after the date
of discovery of the theft or loss.”

The Board requires “all loss or theft,” meaning any loss
or theft, to be reported to the Board within 10 days of
discovery of the loss or theft. The 10-day reporting period
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FDA Releases MOU on Human
Drug Compounding Regulation and
Oversight

Acknowledging the vital role states play in reducing
the risks associated with compounded drugs, Food
and Drug Administration (FDA) has made available a
Final Standard Memorandum of Understanding (MOU)
Addressing Certain Distributions of Compounded Human
Drug Products, intended to be entered into between the
agency and the states. The release of the MOU is required
as part of its submission to the Office of Management and
Budget for review and clearance under the Paperwork
Reduction Act of 1995. The MOU was developed in close
consultation with the National Association of Boards of
Pharmacy (NABP"), as described in the Federal Food,
Drug, and Cosmetic Act. The agency also engaged with
states, pharmacies, associations, pharmacists, and other
stakeholders.

Among the issues addressed in the MOU is the
definition of the statutory term “inordinate amounts,”
which refers to compounded drugs that are distributed
interstate. In addition, the MOU includes the risk-based
oversight model from the 2018 revised draft MOU.
States that sign the document agree to identify pharmacy
compounders that distribute inordinate amounts (greater
than 50%) of compounded drug products interstate, as
well as report certain information to FDA about those
compounders. FDA also provided clarity in the MOU
on state investigations of complaints associated with
compounded drugs distributed out of state. States that
enter into the MOU will investigate complaints about
drugs compounded at a pharmacy within their state and
distributed outside of the state and advise FDA when they
receive reports of serious adverse drug experiences or
serious product quality issues, like drug contamination.

To help states to better investigate these issues, FDA
has also announced an agreement with NABP to make
an information sharing network available to the states.
Through this network, states will be able to obtain infor-
mation from pharmacies in their states and transmit that
information to FDA.

“We anticipate the final MOU, once signed, will help
to facilitate increased collaboration between the FDA
and the states that sign it,” said Janet Woodcock, MD,
Director, Center for Drug Evaluation and Research,
in an FDA Voices article. “Working together, we can

help promote quality compounding practices and better
address emerging public health concerns that may affect
patients.”

FDA Clarifies Compounding Rules,
Offers Flexibility to Help Ease Drug
Shortages During COVID-19 Pandemic

FDA noted it will use discretion in enforcing certain
standards related to 503A and 503B compounding in
an effort to ease drug shortages during the coronavirus
disease 2019 (COVID-19) pandemic. During an
American Pharmacists Association (APhA) webinar on
April 30, 2020, the agency clarified it will “look to 503B
compounders to grapple with drug shortages” and “turn
to 503A compounders to fill in the gaps.”

In addition, the agency clarified that medications on
the FDA drug shortage list are effectively considered “not
commercially available,” which frees 503A and 503B
compounding facilities from limits on compounding
drugs that are “essentially a copy” of a product already
available on the market. FDA also does not intend to take
action if a 503A facility fills orders for a compounded
drug that is essentially a copy of an approved drug that
has been discontinued and is no longer marketed.

In April 2020, FDA issued a temporary guidance that
granted flexibility for pharmacists to compound certain
necessary medications under 503A for nonspecific
patients hospitalized due to COVID-19. In addition, a
temporary guidance was issued that granted enforcement
flexibility for 503B outsourcing compounding facilities
for drugs in shortage for patients hospitalized during
the COVID-19 public health emergency. The guidance
documents stipulate the conditions compounders
must meet and are available at https:/www.fda.gov/
media/137125/download.

More information on these compounding rule
clarifications is available in a May 5, 2020 press release
on the APhA website.

CMS Allows Pharmacies to Temporarily
Enroll as Clinical Diagnostic
Laboratories for COVID-19 Testing

Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS)
has released a document detailing a process that allows
pharmacies to temporarily enroll as independent clinical
diagnostic laboratories. This process will allow those
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facilities to seek Medicare reimbursement for COVID-19
tests, making it easier for them to provide that service
during the pandemic.

“Up until this point in time, most pharmacies could
only offer this as a cash service because they were not
considered providers through CMS, and really a lot of
the third-party payers really didn’t have an interest in a
fee-for-service type model,” said Michael E. Klepser,
PharmD, FCCP, pharmacy professor at Ferris State
University, in an interview with Bloomberg Law. “The
fact that CMS is saying we’re now authorizing or
allowing pharmacists to get reimbursed for these is a
great door opening at the federal level and that’s a huge,
huge thing.”

Chain pharmacies such as CVS, Walgreens, and Rite
Aid are offering drive-through testing at many pharmacies
throughout the country.

FDA Issues Updated Guidance
for Compounding Pharmacies
Experiencing PPE Shortages

FDA has issued an update for its guidance to pharmacy
compounders that may experience shortages of personal
protective equipment (PPE) during the COVID-19
pandemic. As compounders typically utilize PPE when
performing sterile compounding, the updated guidance
clarifies that the drugs can be compounded under the
policy in a segregated compounding area that is not in
a cleanroom. This policy has been adopted to ensure
patients continue to have access to medicines they
need during the pandemic, and to reduce the risks of
compounding when standard PPE is not available.

In addition to FDA guidance, United States Pharmaco-
peial Convention has previously issued an informational
document for compounders regarding garb and PPE short-
ages during the pandemic. The document includes recom-
mendations for conserving garb and PPE and what steps
might be considered in the case of shortages of garb and
PPE used for both sterile and nonsterile compounding.

The updated guidance can be accessed through
FDA'’s website by visiting www.fda.gov/media/136841/
download.

HHS Expands Telehealth Access in
Response to COVID-19

In an effort to prevent and respond to the COVID-19
pandemic, the US Department of Health and Human
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Services (HHS) has awarded $20 million to increase
telehealth access and infrastructure for health care
providers and families. The funds, which are awarded
through the Health Resources and Services Administration
(HRSA), will increase capability; capacity and access
to telehealth and distant care services for providers,
pregnant women, children, adolescents, and families;
and assist telehealth providers with cross-state licensure.

“This new funding will help expand telehealth
infrastructure that is already being used during the
pandemic to provide essential care, especially to the most
vulnerable, including pregnant women and children with
special health care needs,” said HHS Secretary Alex Azar
in a press release. “This funding will also help clinicians
use telehealth nationally by streamlining the process to
obtain multi-state licensure.”

HRSA’s Maternal and Child Health Bureau awarded
a total of $15 million to four recipients; each award sup-
ports a key area in maternal and child health, including
pediatric care, maternal health care, state public health
systems, and family engagement for children with special
health care needs. HRSA’s Federal Office of Rural Health
Policy awarded a total of $5 million to two recipients
through the Licensure Portability Grant Program, which
will assist telehealth clinicians nationally on licensure
and credentialing to meet emerging needs related to
COVID-19.

Criminals Found Posing as CDC
Representatives to Steal Money and
Information

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)
is warning the general public of a new type of phone
and phishing scam by criminals posing as CDC
representatives, often requesting donations. According
to CDC, most of these fraudulent activities are being
conducted by phone, utilizing software to “spoof” phone
calls to make them appear as if they are coming from
phone numbers that may look familiar. CDC advises
consumers to avoid answering calls from numbers they do
not recognize, and to avoid sharing personal information
over the phone. In addition, CDC notes that no federal
agency will request donations from the general public.
Suspicious phone calls may be reported to the Federal
Communications Commission.

More information on the scams is available on the CDC
website at Attps://www.cdc.gov/media/phishing. html.
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permits the licensee sufficient time to investigate and
more thoroughly report the circumstances surrounding
the loss or theft.

CS loss or theft must be reported on the new Licensee
Record of ANY Controlled Substance Loss or Theft
form available here.

Once completed, the form must be forwarded to:

1. The Board (fax: 775/850-1444);

2. The Nevada Department of Public Safety, Inves-
tigation Division (fax: 775/684-7450, Attention:
Coley)

Submitting a letter or corporate communication stat-
ing that a loss or theft has occurred does not satisfy the
reporting requirements.

The new form is not intended to replace Drug
Enforcement Administration (DEA) Form 106, and it
does not meet federal reporting requirements, which
require completion and submission of DEA Form 106 to
DEA’s Diversion Control Field Office. More information
on DEA theft/loss reporting is available by visiting
https://www.deadiversion.usdoj.gov/2 Icfr_reports/theft/
index.html.

Meal Periods and Break Periods

Pharmacists regularly ask the Board members and staff
whether pharmacists and pharmacy employees are legally
entitled to rest periods and meal periods during their
shifts. The Board’s regulations do require pharmacies to
provide both rest periods and meal periods, stating that
“[t]he owner of a pharmacy shall permit each employee
of the pharmacy to take meal periods and rest periods
as required by NRS 608.019.” See NAC 639.556(1)(a).

Nevada’s regulation references NRS 608.019, a statute
that is enforced by the Nevada Labor Commission. This
gives the Board and the Commission concurrent jurisdic-
tion over these issues. Before writing this article, Board
staff contacted the Commission for additional guidance.
The Commission affirmed that an employer must provide
an employee with an uninterrupted meal period of no less
than 30 minutes. The employer, likewise, must provide a
10-minute break period for every four hours the employee
works. See NRS 608.019 and NAC 608.145.

During a meal period, a pharmacist may elect to remain
on site at the pharmacy or to leave the pharmacy, at his
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or her sole discretion. See NAC 639.556(2). If the only
pharmacist on duty wishes to stay on site, “the pharmacist
may not be interrupted or disturbed to conduct his or her
work as a pharmacist, unless the pharmacist has agreed
to such an interruption,” per NAC 639.556(3).

During a rest period, “[a] pharmacy may require a
pharmacist to remain on the premises of the pharmacy
... but may not require the pharmacist to serve the public
during the rest period.” The pharmacist may, at his or her
discretion, agree to have the rest period interrupted. See
NAC 639.556(5).

Additionally, an employer may request an exemption
from the requirements of NRS 608.019, which the
Commission may grant if “the employer has shown
sufficient evidence that business necessity precludes
providing such benefits,” per NRS 608.019(4). A similar
process exists whereby a group of employers may apply
jointly for a categorical exemption based on the same
standard. See NRS 608.019(5). No pharmacy in Nevada
is currently exempt from the requirements of the statute.

If you have questions about rest periods, meal periods,
or related issues you should refer directly to the applicable
statutes and regulations referenced herein. Additionally,
you may contact Board staff using the contact information
on the Board’s website or the Nevada Labor Commission
using the contact information on its website.

Disclaimer: This information is provided as a courtesy
by the Board. This information does not constitute legal
advice and does not override the specific provisions of
Nevada law as applied to a particular set of facts.
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